North Carolina Judicial Elections

The Dummit Law Firm would like to congratulate the winners of several North Carolina judicial elections held yesterday

North Carolina Supreme Court

•Incumbent Paul Martin Newby defeated Sam J. Ervin IV in a close race to keep his seat for another 8 years

North Carolina Court of Appeals

•Incumbent Linda M. McGee won over challenger David S. Robinson
•Incumbent Wanda Bryant won challenger Marty McGee
•Raleigh Attorney Chris Dillon won over incumbent Cressie H. Thigpen

Forsyth County

District Court Judge

•District Court Judge Victoria Roemer won reelection for a fifth term over Forsyth County Assistant Public Defender Andrew Keever

•Assistant District Attorney David Sipprell defeated Winston Salem family law attorney Amy Allred, for the seat vacated by retiring Judge Chester Davis

•Incumbents Lawrence J. Fine, William T. Graham Jr., Laurie L. Hutchins, Chief William B. Reingold, and Camille Banks-Payne all won reelection to hold their seats for another term

Superior Court Judge

•Assistant District Attorney David Hall ran unopposed on the ballot for the seat vacated by retiring Chief Superior Court Judson D. DeRamus. Winston Salem attorney Carl Parrish ran a short campaign against Hall until he was disqualified due to residency requirements

Guilford County

District Court Judge

•Incumbents Sherry Fowler Alloway, Betty J. Brown, Susan R. Burch, Avery Michelle Crump, Michelle Fletcher, Angela C. Foster, Angela B. (Angie) Fox, William K. (Pete) Hunter, Jan H. Samet, and Teresa Vincent all won reelection to hold their seats for another term

•Tabatha Holiday defeated incumbent Polly D. Sizemore

•Linda L. Falls defeated Brian Tomlin for the Bray seat

Superior Court Judge

•Susan E. Bray defeated Robert Enochs to become Superior Court Judge for District 18E

Mecklenburg County


District Court Judge
•Incumbents Kimberly Best, Charlotte Brown-Williams, Ronald L. Chapman, Jena Culler, Karen Eady-Williams, Ty Hands, Donnie Hoover, Christy Townley Mann, Elizabeth Trosch, and Luis A. Trosch Jr. all held their seats for another term

•Gary Henderson defeated Roy H. Wiggins for the Moore seat in District 26

•David Strickland defeated Kary Church Watson for the Totten seat in District 26

Superior Court Judge

•Yvonne Evans and Linwood Foust were both elected to Superior Court District 26A


This entry was posted in General Legal Interest and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s